Signage is getting attention with Las Vegas shoppers in a new partnership between the Neon Museum and Fashion Show, a 2-million-sq.-ft. shopping center on the Las Vegas Strip. To showcase restored, historic Vegas signs on the Strip, Fashion Show will feature a rotating lineup of signs from the Neon Museum’s collection.
The program began with the installation of the iconic Red Barn neon sign on the Fashion Show’s newly renovated Plaza. The Red Barn opened in the late 1950s as an antique store at 1317 Tropicana Avenue and was converted into a bar in the early 1960s. By 1969, it had evolved into one of the first openly gay bars in Las Vegas. Featuring drag shows, such as the popular “RB Follies,” the Red Barn provided a place for the gay community to socialize. The Red Barn also published the RB Bag, one of the earliest gay magazines in Southern Nevada. The bar closed in March 1988, and its restored iconic martini glass sign is now a part of the Neon Museum’s collection.
The featured sign will be replaced with a different restored sign every few months.